• 2020 FESTIVAL: March 20th & 21st

    Red Earth Park &
    Mooroolbark Community Centre

    From Station St, along Brice Ave to
    Red Earth Park

    [Below Image: Swordcraft Group at Celebrate Mooroolbark 2019]

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Celebrate Mooroolbark 2018!

A huge thank you to everyone involved in Celebrate Mooroolbark 2018 when our No Barriers, Future Possibilities theme came alive. 

It was the first year that we have been washed out and had to close down due to weather conditions, and we were very impressed with the way everyone handled it. 

We were lucky that RedEarth Unearthed went ahead as planned on the Friday night, and that the parade went through without a hitch before the storm hit!  Our gratitude goes out to all who assisted, in particular, the Mooroolbark SES, who were so kind as to help us direct cars off-site. 


What a diverse range of entries we received for the Short Film Competition this year!  

We appreciate the effort that our entrants made in meeting our No Barriers – Future Possibilities theme and we saw many representations of STEAM, from inventions to rocket science to renewable energy.  The animations and other special effects really helped the competition take off into the future!

With a record number of 101 entries, it was difficult to choose a winner, however, we felt that 11-year-old animator Jett James’ entry titled “ Grunt the Great Inventor” was a clear stand out for first prize.  Jett also won the People’s Choice Award.

Our runner-up was Michael Stephens’ with his entry titled “Harry Potter in Real Life

Other finalists included:

Ovni Vaca Studio
James William
Fereydoon Borouji
Gregory Ayriyan

A special thanks to Harvey Norman Springvale for sponsoring the 2018 Film Competition with some fantastic prizes!


The writing competition was expanded this year to include comic strips, in addition to the usual short stories, and this made for some exciting entries!

We had a great response from several schools in the area:  Bimbadeen Heights Primary School, Lilydale Primary School, Lilydale High School, Manchester Primary School, Mt Evelyn Primary School and Pembroke Primary School.

The stories largely featured future time travel into outer space and ideas on how to make life easier on planet earth. (An amusing idea was to delete the need for homework… which seems to be self-defeating if we want our future generations to come up with mathematical and or scientific solutions to earth’s problems!).

There was a cautionary tale regarding the overuse of mobile phones and the effect it will have on our ability to socially interact.

And a very moving piece about a young girl finding herself in the future and able to bring back with her the cure for cancer when she returns to the present, and consequently is able to pass it on to her grandmother and many other people around the world.

First Prize, Cat 1 (Prep – Gr 2):  Teddy Patterson, Mt. Evelyn Primary School

First Prize, Cat. 2 (Gr 3 – 6): Stephanie Butler, Lilydale Primary School;

Second Prize, Cat 2 (Gr 3 – 6):  Hadassah Rickard, Bimbadeen Heights Primary;

Third Prize, Cat 2 (Gr 3 – 6):  Tegan McDonald, Pembroke Primary School;

First Prize, Cat 3 (Yr 7 – 12):  Kylie Wilkinson, Lilydale High School;

The overall Schools Prize went to Lilydale Primary School.

A huge thanks to James Merlino MP for his sponsorship of the 2018 Writing Competition.


This year we had quite a number of entries submitted from local primary schools: Bimbadeen Heights, Pembroke, Manchester and Yarra Ranges Special Developmental Schools.

A strong emphasis on robotics (our favourites were the ones geared to do the housework!) and environmental issues (eg., one entrant’s clever use of old garden hoses to make an outdoor mat and another, a chicken constructed from chicken wire who was devouring discarded plastic wrappers and about to lay a plastic egg!).

There were plenty of delighted reactions from passers-by and shop owners in The Terrace Shopping Centre where the Recycled Sculptures were displayed before and after the festival.

First Prize went to Isla Wakeham from Pembroke Primary School (who will receive the Perpetual Trophy) and an Honourable Mention went to Tegan McDonald, also from Pembroke.

Thank you to the Disabled People’s Group for their sponsorship of the 2018 Recycled Sculpture Competition.


We were inspired to see such imaginative and creative entries in our Parade this year and appreciated the effort put into meeting our STEAM (Science, Technology, Engineering, Arts and Mathematics) theme.

We could only choose two winners. First Place was awarded to Yarra Heights Dance Academy with their energetic dancing (for the entire length of the parade!) and futuristic fluorescent costumes.

Pembroke Primary School followed in Second Place as the judges loved their whacky blue wigs, marching along as a group of mad scientists!

Watch the parade as it was broadcast on Yarra Ranges Life TV here!

Thanks to Tony Smith MP, Christine Fyffe MP, Bridget Vallence and David Hodgett MP for sponsoring the Parade Competition in 2018.


Well done the 2018 Red Earth UnEarthed participants!  Winners (in no particular order) were as follows:

Open Section – First Prize
Dee (Ilona Gallow)

Open Section – Second Prize
Kathie Kenyon

Open Section – Third Prize
Day Dreamers

Junior Section – First Prize
Jasmyne Morrison

Junior Section – Second Prize
Kate Pengelly

Junior Section – Third Prize
Tayla Shearer

People’s Choice Group
Mooroolbark Girl Guides & The Garneddies

People’s Choice –Individual/Duo
Ebony O’Neil and Jade Schneider

An enormous thanks to the Lions Club of Mooroolbark for their generous sponsorship of Red Earth UnEarthed once again.

And most of all, thank you to all who participated by entering a competition in 2018, we hope to see you again in 2019!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: